The Bright Side

Standard

This morning Mom took a shower all by herself.  This is the first time since May when she fell and fractured her hip in the same bathroom that she’s been able to do that.  For this I happily acknowledged her with a high-five.  “The only thing,” she realized, “is that I didn’t have my helpers there to scratch my back.”  Indeed, doing something alone mutually excludes doing it with support.  So today I’m reminded that the cliche is true — that there is a bright side to everything even if it just means having someone to scratch your back.  Luckily for Mom I had an unused 3-foot long exfoliating hydro towel that’s perfect for that task.  Bright sides all around.

Leave a Reply

